Morning Devotion

A spontaneous devotional prayer which came to me this morning, as I headed out for my walk, inspired by my earlier Mandala of the Celtic Cross post:

“Hail to the east, direction of stone and mountain.  May the mountains of the land and the bones of my body be blessed this day.

“Hail to the south, direction of the Sun, bringer of summer and warmth.  May the Sun and my countenance be blessed this day.

“Hail to the west, direction of the Sea.  May the seas, all waterways, and the blood of my body be blessed this day.

“Hail to the north, direction of Wind, bringer of winter and the cold.  May the winds and my breath be blessed this day.

“Hail to the earth beneath me, great giver and provider.  May the land and my body be blessed this day.

“Hail to the clouds above me, bringers of nourishing rain.  May the clouds and my thoughts be blessed this day.

“Hail to the sacred center, where I stand, where all Spirit resides, shared by all beings, linking us as kin.  May the holy Spirit within and about me be blessed this day.

Moran taing, agus sla\inte mhath.”

Leave a Reply

