Midday, and the morphing prayer, 18 Nov

The Cloud Spirits are returning, stealthily sauntering into the sky a few at a time, slowly filling it.  They take the hard chill off the land and out of the air.  Crows, gulls, juncos, and squirrels are out today, feeling active in the thaw, perhaps preparing for the coming rain.

Imbas come to me partway through my contemplative walk, and I am inspired to pause beneath the copse of oak trees at a bend in the path, to pray my Celtic Mandala through again:

“Hail east, power of rock, mountain, and bone.  I thank you for your strength and endurance.  I pray that you teach me about being strong and enduring, and how to give strength and endurance to the world.

“Hail, south, power of sun and countenance.  I thank you for your light and beauty.  I pray that you teach me about light and beauty, and how to bring them into the world.

“Hail west, power of sea, waters, and blood.  I thank you for your nourishment.  I pray that you teach me about nourishing, and how to give nourishing to the world.

“Hail north, power of wind and breath.  I thank you for your refreshment.  I pray that you teach me about refreshment, and how to five refreshment to the world.

“Hail below me, power of earth and flesh.  I thank you for your sustenance, and pray that you teach me about sustenance and how to give it to the world

“Hail above me, power of cloud and thought, I thank you for your power of greening and transforming.  I pray that you teach me about greening and transforming, and how give them to the world.

“Hail center, power of indwelling spirit.  I thank you for your vitality and inspiration.  I pray that you teach me about vitality and inspiration, and how to give them to the world.

“Slàinte mhath.”

Leave a Reply

