Sunset, and the Deep Peace of the Tree Meditation

Twilight arrived silently on muffled feet today, behind the gauzy haze of cloud cover.  It felt like it manifested as a blanket, suggesting warm coziness with its chilly air but not carrying the sharp frosty edge of the last several nights.  A calm night is following on its heels, though the ground nearby is still littered with the fallen branches and leaves of the past week’s wild winds.

“Hail, Spirit of Twilight.  Thank you for the blessings of this day.  May you be a peaceful bridge delivering us into the quiet night.”

I combined this moment of contemplation and prayer with the Deep Peace of the Tree meditation, which I learned about today.  It is a moving meditation created by the Order of Bards, Ovates and Druids’ (OBOD) arch druid, Philip Carr-Gomm.  It builds on the well-known pagan tree meditation, in which one visualizes roots stretching down from one into the earth, spreading far and deep, drinking up water, nutrients, and the power from the core of the earth, and drawing it up into oneself.  When doing this I used to also breathe it up through each chakra until I exhaled it out through the top of my head, where it then energized my aura as it fell around me, back to earth, and continue the inhaling and exhaling loop.  This meditation adds a standing pose and hand movement and gestures to this.  I liked how the movements emphasized the formation of a tree reaching out and up as a treetop, and it felt like the downward sweeping arms helped to really disperse the energy through one’s nemeton (druidic version of the aura).  The arms coming up through the center accentuate the rising earth’s energy moving through one as well.  While it is suggested to rest the hands at heart and crown during this segment, I also added a rest of the hands below my navel, and at each station where I paused, drew the earth energy into each of my corresponding three inner cauldrons, per the Cauldrons of Poesy known in Irish tradition.  The hands overhead help draw the energy up and out through the crown, and that final exhale while arms are raised helped me feel the energy rising out and cascading over me, filling and energizing my nemeton.  The exercise recommends going through the series three times, which I felt worked well.  I liked this experience, and would like to continue using it as a part of my daily offices, for at least some of them, if I don’t include it in all of them.

This is the article I read describing this moving meditation, which includes a video of someone going through it.  Thanks Philip Carr-Gomm and OBOD for offering this!

http://www.druidry.org/druid-way/teaching-and-practice/druidry-meditation/deep-peace-tree-meditation

Leave a Reply

