Night, and trying a lunar meditation, 20 Nov

Still and quiet, with clouds riding low and bright in the sky, the night seeps around and into me, drawing me in, gently urging me to settle into it.

“Hail, Spirits of the Night, Mother of Darkness.  May you smile upon us.  Thank you for your gifts of dreams and regeneration.  I pray that you teach us how to be at peace with ourselves.  Slàinte mhath.”

I am experimenting with adding in devotional readings, questions, and meditations to my morning and evening offices from Caitlín Matthews’ book, Celtic Devotional.  Morning and evening prayers and readings are aligned in theme by each of the four Celtic fire festivals, set out for each of the seven days of the week, then correlated to daily questions and nightly meditation themes for each calendar day.

For Samhain season, on the 20th of the month, the lunar meditation theme is “The constellation that your soul-friends make.”

When I think of a constellation of my soul-friends I think of my sister Brigidine priestess flametenders in my Brigidine priestess Order.  We each of us feel the call of our Lady Brìde- she is our companion-woman and maker of song, our inspiration and our comfort, to whom we pray for guidance, with whom we commune for wisdom.  Together we keep her perpetual flame alight in the world, both literally via candle flame, and figuratively through practicing Brigidine arts and compassionate acts.  We tend riverbanks, sing prayers of blessing into the waters, and prayers of healing to the land.  We write poetry, create art, craft herbal medicines and fiber creations, offer healing prayers for those in need, celebrate Brìde throughout the year with seasonal Brìde-centered rites, support each other when one of us in need, and inspire each other with our creations, insights, and communion experiences.  Two of these sisters are dear, close friends; we support each other in our various interests, and come together to celebrate our shared interests.  This sisterhood of soul-friends has become dear to my heart and spirit, and I thank Brìde for the inspiration to create this Order in her honor, and for the blessings it brings me daily.

Leave a Reply

