Revisiting the Celtic Mandala Prayer, Star Frost Moon, Day 13

I offer up this prayer regularly, but have allowed it to express itself as it needs to in each moment that I offer it.  In the beginning I felt I was looking for its ideal, right form, and was moving through iterations of it towards that end, charting its evolution as I went along.  I no longer feel bound to this idea of outcome, but feel instead that the prayer is a general form with opportunities for variations as may feel suitable depending upon the moment the prayer is offered.  It moves through me as it needs to, being as much a living thing as I am, and together the prayer and I offer reverence to the powers.  This is how the prayer moved through me today ~

“I stand facing east, and honor the power of Stone- your strength, permanence, and durability, especially as you manifest here as the great beings, the Mountains.  I offer you my reverence and gratitude.  (deep breath in and out, the out-breath being the vehicle which carries out my reverence and gratitude, breathing out through my heart center).  I pray that your powers be with me and bless me.  Moran taing agus sla\inte mhath.

“I stand facing south, and honor the power of Sun- great being whose heat and light bless all the land with life.  I offer you my reverence and gratitude (through the heart, breathing in blessings, breathing out reverence and gratitude).  I pray that your powers be with me and bless me.  Moran taing agus sla\inte mhath.

“I stand facing west, and honor the power of Sea- grandmother of all life on earth, whose great water cycle nourishes all life, I offer you my reverence and gratitude.  I pray that your powers be with me and bless me.  Moran taing agus sla\inte mhath.

“I stand facing north, and honor the power of Wind-you who bring the weather, and change, and break up stagnation with your refreshment.  I offer you my reverence and gratitude.  I pray that your powers be with me and bless me.  Moran taing agus sla\inte mhath.

“I stand facing down and honor the power of Earth- your great womb/tomb, from whence all life comes, and to which all return, great force of life, death, and rebirth.  I offer you my reverence and gratitude.  I pray that your powers be with me and bless me.  Moran taing agus sla\inte mhath.

“I stand facing up and honor the power of Cloud- bringer of life-giving rains, changer of patterns.  I offer you my reverence and gratitude.  I pray that your powers be with me and bless me.  Moran taing agus sla\inte mhath.

“I stand in the center of the world, surrounded and blessed by all the powers, and honor the power of indwelling Spirit, which vitalizes all of life, inspires our hearts, and nourishes our souls.  I offer you mu reverence and gratitude.  I pray that your power be with me and bless me.  Moran taing agus sla\inte mhath.”

As I went about on my daily walk after, I could feel all these powers clustered about me, filling my nemeton with their energies.  It was a very palpable experience, and showed me how powerful they are, as well as how powerful it can be to sincerely call powers to oneself.

Breathe in blessings, breathe out gratitude, heal relationships ~ mar a bha, mar a tha, mar a bhitheas gu brath.

Leave a Reply

